Lots of Songwriting…

Hi folks

By way of a rare update on some of my music/worship/songwriting activities, I can safely say that this has been one of the busiest seasons of my life so far in terms of writing (and rewriting) a bunch of songs.

Recently I had the great privilege of co-writing with Graham Kendrick; the result is a song called ‘Holy Overshadowing’ and you can WATCH THIS SPACE for news about a recording of it – I have booked the studio for the recording of my new EP which will (probably) be entitled Invitation.

Also to make its way onto the new EP will be a song appropriately called ‘Invitation Song’, which I’m quite excited about – I’ve had some good feedback from fellow worship leaders, though I have yet to try it in the crucible of the corporate worship setting, which ultimately reveals whether it’s of any quality I think!

This song in turn was birthed out of a discarded verse from another, which is presently entitled ‘Heavenly Father (A Prayer for the Church)’ and this title will probably stick (though I’m not so sure about the parentheses). This song has in fact yielded a lot of ultimately-discarded lines, verses and choruses, which I expect/hope to be able to use in the near future to create other songs! This has been one of the most exciting things for me; despite the frustration of it taking months to finish this one (I came up with the original idea in Nov 2011…but it’s almost done – I think!), it has been wonderful to realise that sacrificing a line/verse etc can help the flow and focus of a song, and also be kept as an idea for another song! I’ll perhaps talk about this more when the songs come out on the EP, if I get any more interest in how the songwriting process happened!

Suffice it to say, blood, sweat and tears is near enough the truth when it comes to crafting – I mean really hammering out – a song. I have learnt more probably in the last year than I had up until that point, and at the moment feel full to bursting with burgeoning convictions about songwriting for the church – making it accessible, theologically well-grounded, prophetic, understandable, singable, yet somehow original, focussed, and much more – and hopefully I’m beginning to succeed in putting a small percentage of these things into practice! I try to remain aware of course of how much I don’t know, which is a lot I’m sure, but I don’t really know, because I don’t know it, do I? But that’s a completely separate philosophical conundrum.

On a different note, I’m looking forward to leading worship for the Supranatural Life London School of Supernatural Ministry this Saturday. The day is entitled “Growing in Faith and Favour” and I’m looking forward to working with Christen Forster who will be doing the teaching. He’s a great guy!

Over and out.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Lots of Songwriting…”

  1. Chris Juby says :

    Really agree about sacrificing good lines to focus a song. I had a verse about the incarnation for ‘In the silence of beginning’ which I loved, but the song is definitely clearer without it.

    Excited to hear about your Graham Kendrick co-write. I’ll definitely watch this space!

Leave a Reply

